Writer Wednesday: Gareth Wiles

image2

On Wednesdays on social media, people use the hashtag #WriterWednesday to chat about all things author, book and writing, including authors promoting their own work. As we love to support self-published authors, we thought we’d join in and we will be featuring a UK self-published author every Wednesday on the website. This week, we met Gareth Wiles to find out more about him.

Please tell us about yourself; when did you first become interested in writing?
A couple of years ago my mother handed me a tatty old notebook that she’d found in her wardrobe, which contained a story I’d written when I was about 8 or 9. It was a rather strange murder mystery, which is best left unreleased until long after my death! After that I had a very good English teacher at school, who said that my handwriting was terrible but what I wrote was good. I also had an old Aunty who used to come out with all these crazy complex words.

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
I don’t remember writing the story which I mentioned in the first answer, but I do remember writing a James Bond style story when I was about 12. I wrote it on a handheld computer called a Psion which they don’t make anymore. The dratted thing stopped working one day and my story was lost forever.

What genre/genres do your books fall under?
I’d say sci-fi crime, with a hint of doomed romance and a lot of dark humour. I like to throw a bit of everything in there!

What is your latest book called, what is it about and what was the inspiration behind the book?
My latest book is called ‘The Comic-Con Killer’ and it is about an ageing celebrity who has fallen on hard times. He was once an international star but has now been reduced to making personal appearances at conventions. He gets murdered on stage during a Q&A session. I have attended many comic cons over the years with my books, so I guess my inspiration comes from that. The book has been well received, thankfully!

image1

Besides your current book, do you have any new projects coming up?
I have a sequel to The Comic-Con Killer planned, and am also working on a new book with two fellow authors. It is a very sinister and creepy psychological thriller which will be finished sometime this year.

Where can people find your books?
My books are available in both paperback and ebook formats, and can be found on Amazon or ordered direct through your local bookshop (if it hasn’t closed down yet!!!).

What has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
Being told that I was the worst writer in the history of humanity, and that my book ‘I Am Dead’ was complete crap. I had affected that person and caused them to have such a strong opinion. Mind you, this was at a convention and I later witnessed this same person telling a comic book artist that their images were complete crap as well.

Besides writing, what hobbies or interests do you enjoy in your spare time?
I love gardening and have a lovely little greenhouse called Hyacinth, full of cacti and pelargoniums. Hyacinth the greenhouse even has her own page on Facebook!

Which novelists do you admire?
Two of my favourites are Joseph Conrad and Albert Camus. Amazing grasps on the human condition.

What has been the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?
Inspector Morse author Colin Dexter once told me the only thing that mattered was good dialogue. I went away and read some of his books, and he was right. Mind you, I’ve been criticised for lack of description in my writing in favour of dialogue so you can’t really win!

Do you have any tips or advice for other indie authors?
Don’t expect riches, prepare for and enjoy negative feedback, and don’t give a flying f**k what anyone else thinks. If you like what you write, then chances are someone else will as well.

You can find out more about Graham and his books below:
Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

