Writer Wednesday: Ange Chan

image2

On Wednesdays on social media, people use the hashtag #WriterWednesday to chat about all things author, book and writing, including authors promoting their own work. As we love to support self-published authors, we thought we’d join in and we will be featuring a UK self-published author every Wednesday on the website. This week, we met Ange Chan to find out more…

Please tell us about yourself; when did you first become interested in writing?
From a young age I’ve always had an interest in writing. When I was a young adult I wrote a lot of record and gig reviews, some of which were published to positive critique, which made me want to write more and more, when I found the time. Over the years I’ve written a number of short stories and poetry. I started writing my first book in 2007 but shelved it in 2010 after received a number of rejections from literary agents and publishing houses.

In 2012, after 26 years of full-time working I decided to take the plunge and dedicate more time to my writing, develop the plot and content of my book, and complete it properly. So with the support of my family, I quit my job. Scary times, but I have no regrets.

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
I remember writing a short story for a competition at school. I must have been about 8 or 9 at the time. I can’t recall the subject of the story but I remember winning it which fired my enthusiasm for writing. I also started learning about poetry around this time. I remember finding it an exciting way of expressing myself.

What genre/genres do your books fall under?
I write contemporary poetry and have self published four volumes with more on the way. One of the planned books will be Doctor Who themed poetry, which I started writing this year when I was invited to contribute to the Doctor Who Appreciation Society’s long-running publication, Celestial Toyroom.

I’ve also written two “chick lit” novels in a very accessible contemporary fiction style called “Two Degrees of Separation”, and “Baby, Can You Hear Me?”

What is your latest book called, what is it about and what was the inspiration behind the book?
My latest book, published just last week, is called “Baby, Can You Hear Me?” The inspiration behind the book is my son who was born with hearing problems. The story focuses on the lives and relationships of two sisters whose situations couldn’t be more different. It deals with how they each cope with their individual situations and with each other.

image1

Besides your current book, do you have any new projects coming up?
Yes, I have two books of poetry planned in the next year. The Doctor Who one, mentioned above, and a theme book of poetry called “Songs of Heartbreak and Sorrow” which I think is pretty self-explanatory.

I also have an interesting idea for another novel bubbling away in my mind. I need to get those thoughts down on paper and formulate a plan.

Where can people find your books?
All my books are available on Amazon in both Kindle and paperback versions.

What has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
I think nothing could top the feeling of opening the package containing my first book. Getting that physical thing in my hands after such a labour of love and tenacity, was amazing. I admit that I actually squealed with excitement!

Besides writing, what hobbies or interests do you enjoy in your spare time?
I’m an avid reader, particularly enjoying autobiographies and contemporary fiction. This year I’ve read the biographies of Vivienne Westwood and Tom Watkins amongst others.

I’m a huge fan of music especially in the electro/Synthpop genre. I used to be a band manager/promoter and have organised quite a few successful events in my time.

I love modern art and sculpture and was recently lucky enough to visit the Yorkshire Sculpture Park and the The Hepworth in Wakefield which showcased the works of many of my favourite sculptors; Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth.

I’m also an accomplished home cook and enjoy preparing new dishes for my family. When I have time to watch TV, it’s usually a cookery show or I’m tuned into.

Which novelists do you admire?
I’ve always been a fan of Dorothy Koomson who writes women’s contemporary fiction. Her books are so well written and well-researched with strong female lead characters with gritty stories to tell. I can highly identify and empathise with her characters, which is a gloriously rare trait. I’d recommend her books to everyone!

What has been the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?
Writing a book is like being pregnant; everyone has advice concerning what’s best for you! The best advice I heard was to find your own style and work with that.

Do you have any tips or advice for other indie authors?
See my previous answer!

My work can be found on Amazon in eBook and paperback formats. You can catch up with me on my website vodkaangel22.wix.com/vodkaangel22, follow me on Twitter @angechanwriter and like my Facebook page “Ange Chan Writer”.

One thought on “Writer Wednesday: Ange Chan

Leave a Reply

