Writer Wednesday: Ed Green

ed_green
On Wednesdays on social media, people use the hashtag #WriterWednesday to chat about all things author, book and writing, including authors promoting their own work. As we love to support self-published authors, we thought we’d join in and we will be featuring a UK self-published author every Wednesday on the website. This week, we met Ed Green to find out more…

Please tell us about yourself; when did you first become interested in writing?
I’m a bit of a sucker for history – old buildings with character, where things came from, where we might be going. So I like writing about how the past is in all of us, even as we look to the future. As for my past, I was born ten weeks premature, one of twins – my sister Jenny had cerebral palsy (I don’t). We grew up on the edge of the Yorkshire coalfield, at the time of upheaval when the mining industry was on its last legs. I now live and work in London. You can take the boy out of the Rhubarb Triangle…

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
The story of my home village really, a social history which I self-published before it was taken up by a local publisher. Later on I got interested in the charismatic ‘end is nigh’ 19th century preacher whose sect built the mansion that stood near my childhood home, and wrote his biography.

What genre/genres do your books fall under?
Social history, biography, memoir.

What is your latest book called, what is it about and what was the inspiration behind the book?
On 15 October 1996, life changed irrevocably when Jenny died aged 27, after her clothing caught fire. My disabled twin was now the missing twin.

As the twenty-year anniversary of the horrible accident came into the horizon, I decided to revisit our life together and my life since as a lone twin. I’d moved on from that awful October a long time ago of course, but decided that Jenny’s story is worth telling. My book Twinned is about Jenny growing up disabled, her setbacks and triumphs, her riding the wave of the Disability Rights Movement. It’s also family life in a ’70s/80s working class Yorkshire, and the way we’ve lived with disability in recent years – whether disabled or not.

Besides your current book, do you have any new projects coming up?
I’ve got a few cards up my sleeve, but for now I’m concentrating on getting Twinned out there.

Where can people find your books?
Prophet John Wroe: virgins, scandals and visions is published by Sutton. You can find it here on Amazon.

Twinned is still waiting for a publisher – so give me a shout if interested. Meanwhile, you can check it out here: www.twinned.info.

What has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
Getting the thumbs-up from Poorna Bell on my Huffington Post pitch. Reading her very moving blog post – a letter to her husband after his suicide – gave me the courage to take the plunge and take Jenny’s story to the HuffPost. They say validation shouldn’t matter, but it really does.

Besides writing, what hobbies or interests do you enjoy in your spare time?
London has so much to offer, I often feel spoilt for choice. I’m also a sucker for all things ’70s – the more naff the sitcom, or cheesy the music, the better! I go to gym a few times a week, and commiserate with Saints FC – although not necessarily at the same time.

Which novelists do you admire?
Sad to say, secondary school English literature lessons scarred me for life, so I’m much more of a non-fiction man – to my husband’s constant disapproval.

What has been the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?
When trying to bring alive a piece of social history, always watch out for those when I w’ a lad moments!

Do you have any tips or advice for other indie authors?
Keep a diary – old school pen and paper, no computer. In pen, so you have to get it right first time.

You can find out more about Ed and his books on his website, blog, Huffington Post and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

