Writer Wednesday: Matthew Purkiss

my-picture

On Wednesdays on social media, people use the hashtag #WriterWednesday to chat about all things author, book and writing, including authors promoting their own work. As we love to support self-published authors, we thought we’d join in and we will be featuring a UK self-published author every Wednesday on the website. This week, we met Matthew Purkiss to find out more about him and his work…

Please tell us about yourself; when did you first become interested in writing?
Hello, I am 24 and live in Hampshire, UK. I have always been interested in writing ever since I can remember. Growing up, the thought of writing a book was very daunting as I had trouble reading and writing through my junior school years. When I reached Secondary school I would tend to write short stories now and again. I have always had ideas and stories I wanted to share with the world. It seemed like a dream and only a dream. Entering adulthood with the extra responsibilities we are free of as kids, it seemed an even more distant dream. One day I woke up and just said, “Right, let’s do this”, then sat down and began planning and writing until the day my first book, Entity, was finished.

My dream of writing a book was complete and I am very proud to have accomplished this dream, though now my main goal is to continue with creating and telling stories to all.

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
I cannot recall the name of the first story I completed but remember it was a generic “haunted house” type story. I had started writing stories before that but always failed or gave up after the first few chapters, thinking that it was never going to work out.

What genre/genres do your books fall under?
I don’t like to be categorised with just one genre so I try and incorporate a few within the story. The main genres for Entity, Entity 2 and Entity 3 is Sci-Fi / Horror / Mystery.

What is your latest book called, what is it about and what was the inspiration behind the book?
My latest book is the third chapter in my Entity trilogy, titled simply Entity 3. The whole inspiration behind all three books in the trilogy was triggered by reading stories like The Tommyknockers by Stephen King and many other horror stories.

It came as a surprise to myself when the story began to grow and progress, as I have never before thought about writing something sci-fi, so it was a massive learning curve. I always assumed I would write horror as that is my main interest but I just couldn’t fit it all together or get into it, though maybe in the future… This story however came to me much quicker and easier and I knew what I wanted from the early days.

latest-book-cover

Besides your current book, do you have any new projects coming up?
Well, I have been writing almost constantly for about three years now, after Entity 3 is released in the Spring, I want to enjoy the achievements I have made. Though there is another story brewing currently called Project Wish. I also want to write a story that involves some of the characters from the Entity trilogy, but in a completely different story and situation. There are also other things that, at this stage may or may not come to light. Follow me on Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news.

Where can people find your books?
Amazon and Kindle at the moment but who knows what the future holds.

What has been the greatest moment in your writing career?
The greatest moment of my writing career is the moment I completed and published my first book, Entity. After the struggle with reading and writing growing up and the time it took me to write the book, then edit the book. It felt amazing when my first shipment of Entity arrived.

Besides writing, what hobbies or interests do you enjoy in your spare time?
Reading mostly (research and pleasure), I also enjoy meeting with friends and keeping up to date with movie releases and enjoy music.

Which novelists do you admire?
My main “go to” author is Stephen King but I enjoy a wide range of authors. I like the classics of Bram Stoker’s Dracula and Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein. I also like reading different genres, for example I am currently reading the Flowers in the Attic series by V.C. Andrews. Bottom line is I like anything with a good plot that keeps me gripped start to finish.

What has been the best piece of writing advice you’ve received?
Simply – “Write what you would want to read”. It all comes easier if you stop worrying about what other people want and start thinking about what you want.

Do you have any tips or advice for other indie authors?
I have so many tips and advice which will make this section very long, but I’ll keep it short. If you have a story to tell then do not let anything or anyone tell you that you are “no good”. If you want to write a story, then write the story. The stress levels will be high, like really high, but trust me when I say that it is definitely worth it when your story, that started as an idea, is in print for others to read. If you have a burning question about how I started and want a more in depth conversation then please follow me and contact me on Facebook. I am always happy to help others. Good luck!

You can find out more about Matthew and his books via Facebook and Twitter.

One thought on “Writer Wednesday: Matthew Purkiss

Leave a Reply

